top of page

My Week From Hell (Part 1)

If you are a consistent follower of my blog, you know that I struggle with my work situation. On the one hand, it's a good paying job with a great company. The work itself is also rewarding in its own way. Never mundane. But on the other hand, it is very stressful, unpredictable, and time consuming. Over the past several months, I dreaded my shifts. It was all I could think about, taking me away from the moment on my days off.

While I was working, I would tell myself that I'm going to take leave of absence. But I would be off for a few days and I would decide to wait to see how I felt about my next shift. In essence, I was waiting to feel content with my situation. How did this work out for me? I didn't. I kept going until I broke. Until "that week" happened.

It began on Monday. I remember because I was about to give a presentation in my Monday evening class. While, I was preparing for this, I got a phone call about a job I had applied for online. The lady on the phone asked me to do a quick over-the-phone interview. Honestly, I applied for several jobs so I couldn't remember the details of this job.

She asked me typical questions about my leadership skills and stress. I was excited and I really felt like I did well. She told me I seemed like an excellent candidate for the position and she gave me an address for a in-person interview with Mr. Cox. She reminded me to dress sharp and to bring a fresh copy of my resume. She gave me her phone number in case I needed help finding the place. Yes, there is a reason why I put this in bold. Keep that detail in mind.

After the interview, I found the listing for that job. It turns out it was a professional, well paying job. I did find it strange that there wasn't any qualifications to do with education and prior work experience. I didn't think too much of that. I was just honored I was asked to be interviewed for a new job.

My interview was scheduled for Thursday so I had lots of time to think it through. However, within a day or so I decided not to go to the interview. For one, I was a student and the position was for a 9-5, full-time hours. My current job has very flexible hours which is ideal. Also, I knew this job wasn't what I was looking for. I was taking this job because it seemed easier but the reality is that I would still miserable but just in a different job.

I dialed the number the lady gave me to decline the interview and it an automated voice picked up. It told me if I wanted to speak to this person I needed to download an app in my play store. I thought that was very odd. I looked my the address that she gave me and it didn't even exist. Yes, the job was a scam. I guess their intention was on the day of the interview, I wouldn't be able to find the location and out of desperation, I would call the number, download the app, and then who knows what. I guess they would have had my credit card information.

Anyways, I felt really stupid. I just kept picturing myself driving around the city looking for a interview that doesn't even exist.

Fortunately, I'm resilient and I got over it quickly. On Wednesday or Thursday of that same week, I was headed to work. I forgot that I left my car on the road and had a 55 dollar parking ticket. I could feel myself rise but I wouldn't let it get to me. It's no big deal. I'll pay off the ticket and I will remember to keep my car in the driveway from now on.

Several hours into my shift, I got a missed call on the work phone. When I checked the voicemail, it was a threatening phone call from one of our clients. Not uncommon within this field of work. For confidentiality purposes, I won't elaborate on this. It was, however, very unnerving and my fearful reaction made me realize it was time to step back. I called the doctor that same day to get a note to take a leave of absence from work.

I also had physiological symptoms on top of this like tightness in my chest, feelings of anxiety and depression, as well as copious amounts of hair loss. It was quite the week!

I am going to follow up this blog discussing what I learned from this experience. I will do that in a separate blog post as this one is already fairly long.

If you are going through a difficult time remember that your happiness and peace of mind is really all the matters. Trust yourself and the timing of the Universe and start making a plan to create a new reality. Just make one little start and things will start to naturally fall in its place.

I look this picture myself! There is always light shining through... Even when it's hard to see.

Check out some other blog posts!

Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page