top of page

How I Mediate

I wrote a post on my old blog about how I mediate. It done very well. Instead of copying and pasting that post to my current blog, I thought I would write a new one with some updates.

1. Eliminate some, but not all distractions

Yes, you might want to put your phone away and turn the TV off. But it's OK if you can hear the traffic outside or music playing in the next room. Use this as an opportunity to hone into your senses. That's one of the benefits of mediation. Learning to be calm and zen even with distractions around us. Besides, you may never find the "perfect moment".

Maybe my phone might go off or the people who live in the upstairs apartment might come home. I hear these sounds, but I try not to attach any meaning or labels to them. I hear them, I let them go, and I move on.

2. Show gratitude

I begin meditating by showing gratitude. It could be for anything. Even this moment right now. This helps center me and it brings me to the present moment.

3. Say a mantra or affirmation

Particularly one that is tied to your wants and desires. If you are trying to eat healthy and get in shape you can say "I am health" several times. Really hear your words and believe what you're saying.

4. It's OK if your mind wanders

A lot of people say they can't mediate because their mind wanders. Yes, the end goal is to keep your mind calm and quiet. But mediation is a practice. Let your mind wander. Accept it. If it does, acknowledge that it happened and then bring your mind back to the present moment. This could be your breath, music, your heart beat, an affirmation.

Your mind may only be free of thought for a split second before it wanders again. That's OK. With time you will be able to go longer periods of time with a blank mind. Even the act of sitting with your breath is meditative.

5. Take slow, long deep breaths

Challenge yourself with how slow and deep you can breathe. You will be surprised at how much time can pass while your concentrating on this task.

6. Be open to receiving

You may have some strange experiences during your session. You may see weird things inside your head or have unusually sensations in your body. If you feel afraid or get excited, they will stop. Try not to attach any meanings to these experiences. That's something I'm still working on.

Here are some other tips. Where whatever you want and position yourself wherever and however you desire. If something feels uncomfortable, make modifications. Make mediation and your practice as simple as possible.

Do you guys have anything that you would like to add that benefited your practice? Let me know!

Ang

Check out some of my other posts:

Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page