top of page

The Truth About Korean Entertainment | RIP Jong Hyun

I'm not sure where to begin or what I want to say.

Yesterday I was scrolling through my news feed and come across a headline that made me stop in my tracks. Kim Jong Hyun, a member of a popular Korean boy band, committed suicide on December 18. I felt sad and emotional, but it did not seem real to me. Later that night and the next day, my news feed was filled with information and tributes about his death. Then it became real.

His death really affected me. It's on my mind, preventing me from sleeping and concentrating. For that reason, and out of respect, I decided to write my opinion on the matter. Or rather, the truth about the Korean entertainment industry.

If you're into Korean pop music (Kpop), you may be familiar with what celebrities and aspiring idols are required to endure. If you're not familiar with it, I'll explain.

People in the entertainment industry lack freedom. They are encouraged (if not forced) to have plastic surgery to conform to Korea's beauty standard. They are put on extreme diets. I have heard of restrictive diets such as the "paper cup diet". Idols fill one cup with veggies, one with protein, and one with a grain or carb. I heard that they are required to use only this method one to three times a day. Often times they are not allowed to eat after 7P or drink water a few days before their promotions. One celebrity said he has only eaten supper a few times in the past year. Another said he only eats chicken breast in order to stay slim.

In addition to these diets, they also have vigorous schedules. Every day they have lessons in dancing, singing, acting, modeling, and maybe Korean in addition to working out. Often times they only get a few hours of sleep. That diet is crazy let alone in conjunction with their work schedule.

They are also required to live in dorms. Although the company pays for all their lessons and amenities, aspiring celebrities are still required to pay off this debt. They haven't even made it yet and they have a debt. I can imagine this being really difficult to pay off if their music is not a success.

I could go on and on.

I'm not saying either that Jong Hyun being a Kpop idol made him depressed and made him commit suicide. We don't know what he was going through in his personal life or what his genetic predisposition is. Regardless, being in the entertainment industry definitely did not help. But in all honesty, there's a good chance that his career is what pushed him over the edge.

I wanted to write this blog out of respect to Jong Hyun and to shed light on the ugly truth of the Korean entertainment industry.

If you are unhappy with any element of your life, please get social support and find the courage to make a change. If you're feeling depressed and considering suicide, please reach out to someone. If they ignore you or shut you down, keep searching. You will find someone who cares and who can help you.

Sending strength and love to Jong Hyun's friends and family. I pray that he is free now. Free from his sadness, free from his depression. Free from any void he has ever felt.

RIP Kim Jong Hyun 1990 - 2017

Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page